profile notes new archive email host

Friday, Mar. 22, 2002 | 5:06 p.m.


i only remember two things about the first day of first grade.

one is that this girl named cathy was absent the whole first week of school because she was in disney world. i tried to envision her in my mind. i thought she would be this really pretty, popular girl with curly hair.

she is, even now, the dorkiest girl i have ever known.

the other thing i remember was lunch. i'd never eaten lunch in a cafeteria before. when i took up my tray, i had my cookie in my hand so i could eat it. a really tall african american woman yelled at me to put my cookie back on my tray.

i didn't get to eat it.

why are these the only things i remember about the first day of first grade? why don't i remember riding the bus or something we did or how my teacher was nice?

i think there must be something wrong with me.

go on drone