profile notes new archive email host

Thursday, Apr. 18, 2002 | 6:27 p.m.


she's on prom court which means she might become prom queen. and on the outside i think i want to be happy but on the inside i know that i'm mad. because i'm screaming "congratulations" to the girl who i still call my best friend [it takes seventeen days to break a habit] but my cries are muffled by the crowd of fake friends who surround her and put a fake smile on her face. and one of the fake ones gets pushed to the ground and she says something about the other fake ones being stuck up the girl's ass. and more than anything i want to hit her ashardasican and say "now you know how i feel." but instead i walk away. and pretend that i'm okay.

and tonight she'll call the fake girls on the phone and say, "brittany didn't even say congratulations." i smile at the idea of this. because the truth is, i said it, and i was genuinely happy for her in that moment. she just couldn't hear me. her ears could not distinguish my authenticity from the bullshit. so she'll be mad at me. but of course she'll never tell me. and it will go on. and on. and on.

tell me. when will it ever end?

"do not be deceived: bad company corrupts good character." 1 Corinthians 15:33

go on drone