profile notes new archive email host

Sunday, Jan. 12, 2003 | 1:31 a.m.


so what do you want to know? do you want me to say that the taj mahal is the most beautiful structure in existence? do you want me to tell you about the cows that are everywhere because if you kill one, the people will kill you? or maybe you want to hear about the poverty, and how i travelled ten thousand miles to see a people oppressed by their own religion?

i'd rather tell you about miracles. like the man in the village church who was beaten for his conversion of faith. like the transforming of a mafia-run, drug-infested whore house into a successful Christian hospital. like the little girl with pigtails from nepal who gave me kisses on my cheeks after she saw me wipe the tears from my eyes.

so you should ask me about money that comes out of nowhere. you should seek to know about the girl who had a brain tumor, and after a surgery that nearly killed her, has been cancer-free for over 2 years. you should beg me to tell about the american plastic surgeon who came to find out if there was a need to fix cleft lip/palette and ended up doing eleven surgeries in one day.

india is not the taj mahal or the worship of cows or pollution. india is a people. if only you could understand....

go on drone