profile notes new archive email host

Tuesday, Apr. 09, 2002 | 8:14 p.m.


i took a bubble bath tonight. and as the scents soaked into my skin. they drenched my soul.

from the tub i could see my reflection in the mirror. and for once. i liked what i saw. my face was plain. and full of freckles. and i wasn't wearing make-up so they were all very visible. but i didn't mind. the color of my skin was welcoming in some inexplicable way. instead of hating it. i smiled. and for a few minutes i was proud of my dark brown eyes. i didn't wish they were green or blue or purple.

for a short time

i looked at myself

in the mirror

and didn't

turn

away.

you know what? for all the days i look in the mirror and despise what i see. they were worth it. to have even one night like tonight. where i can say i am a pretty girl. and feel like it's true.

go on drone